The 28th International Dance Music Awards


By: Lauren Clarke-Bennett

The 28th International Dance Music Awards (IDMA) is one of the most highly anticipated annual events on the global music calendar and the only longstanding awards event dedicated to the EDMA industry. The awards event was presented by Smirnoff and held at the classic Colony Theater on Lincoln Road in South Beach Miami where DJs,  Celebs, VIPs and paparazzi lined the Red Carpet. This year The IDMA generated over two million votes from music enthusiasts in 206 countries in recognition and to honor exceptional achievements in 56 award categories. During the Winter Music Conference week this event is the industry’s highlight, where top DJs, emerging talents and industry leaders culminate in anticipation of the winners. As part of its mission statement to serve as a platform for the advancement of the EDMA industry, the IDMA places particular emphasis on innovative artists and industry trend setters. As music continues to evolve the IDMA has emerged as an essential platform for not only launching but maintaining a successful DJ career.

As with any awards shows there are the performances and the IDMA did not disappoint as Mobius 8 first took to the stage playing a cutting edge laser keyboard, then Joi Cardwell who won Best House/Garage/Deep House Track was next singing her hit “Love Somebody Else”. Daniel Glass, of label Glassnote Records and one of the WMC founders, was the key presenter and introduced Miami Heat DJ, “DJ Irie” who brought a great energy to the stage. Barbara Tucker with her fab Pink hair showed that a hot singers, DJ and a back up drummer (The Cube Guys) can make beautiful music together. Armin Van Buuren, who rarely sat down as he garnered 5 awards that night gave a soulful quote stating that “Everything that’s bad in the world could be solved by dancing together.” and Alexis Jordan, displayed a fresh young sound of house singers with two songs she effortlessly belted out to blend pop style with classic house vocals.

The exquisite America’s Next Top Model Dominique Reighard presented the award for Best Promo Subscription Service/Music Pool, which went to Promo Only  and the singer known simply as Jane with 2 back up singers and a drummer closed out the performance part of the show, to continue with the awards:Lifetime Achievement :Nile Rodgers, Best Latin Dance Track: International Love – Pitbull Feat. Chris Brown, Best Commercial/Pop Dance Track: Sweet Nothing – Calvin Harris Feat. Florence Welch, Best Electro/Tech House Track: Don’t You Worry Child – Swedish House Mafia Feat. John Martin, Best Trance Track: J’ai Envie De Toi – Armin van Buuren presents Gaia, Best Chillout/Lounge Track: Lick It (Kaskade’s Ice Mix) – Kaskade & Skrillex, Best Global DJ: Armin van Buuren, Best Full Length DJ Mix: R3hab – Electric Daisy Carnival V.3, Best Producer: Armin van Buuren, Best Podcast: A State Of Trance – Armin van Buuren, Best Artist (Group): Swedish House Mafia, Best New Product of the Year: Pioneer – RMX-1000.